Zoe Efstathiou, born 1980, is a pianist and composer from Greece currently living in Gothenburg and Copenhagen. She is working with contemporary piano techniques as a composer and improviser exploring the materiality of space in an improvised performance, the timbral possibilities of the piano and the role of the pianist in different spaces and social morphologies. She is focused in composing and performing new music for piano and for piano and electronics but also performs as an improviser with different constellations.

Having studied both classical and jazz piano, she is the first instrumentalist  to have studied jazz performance in a university in her country where she lived until 2015. In Greece, she has performed extensively and in 2013, was selected to perform her compositions at the prestigious festival Greek Jazz Panorama – New Generation as one of the most promising musicians of her generation.

In 2015 she moved to Scandinavia and became active at the Scandinavian improvised music scene. While studying master in improvisation – Nordic Master – The composing musician, she lived in Gothenburg, Copenhagen and Oslo and has been involved in many different projects. As she developed artistically, she became more and more interested in contemporary improvisation, composition and experimental music.

She has performed and toured in Scandinavia and Europe with numerous projects. Among others, she has performed at the Athens Concert Hall, A l’Arme Festival Berlin, Copenhagen Jazz Festival, Nordisk Råds Musikpris, the Acropolis Museum, Onassis Cultural Foundation SGT Athens, the greek national television and greek national radio.

Academic Studies

Advanced Postgraduate Diploma (Composition) – Soloist    RMC – Rhythmic Music Conservatory Copenhagen

Master in Improvisation – NoCoM Nordic Master
HSM – Högskolan för scen och musik Göteborg – NMH Olso – RMC Copenhagen

Electronic Music composition and Max/MSP programming – Notam Oslo

Bachelor in Jazz Piano Performance – Ionian University Corfu, Greece

Diploma in Classical Piano Performance – Filippos Nakas Conservatory Athens


Grants and Scholarships

Konstnärsnämnden – Swedish Arts Grants Committee   2 0 1 8

DJBFA – Danish Composers and Songwriters Association  2 0 1 8

DJBFA – Danish Composers and Songwriters Association   2 0 1 7

Dansk Komponistforening  – Danish Composers Society   2 0 1 7

 Jazz Danmark     2 0 1 7

 Helge Ax:son Johnsons Stiftelse   2 0 1 6

 Adlerbertska Stiftelserna    2 0 1 6

Scholarship Eleftherias Barka – Full two year scholarship for students of             outstanding performance for master studies    2 0 1 5  –  2 0 1 7 


 C o n c e r t  R e v i e w s

Regarding Zoe Efstathiou Quintet – Music Composed by Zoe Efstathiou –  Koncertkirken   Copenhagen

‘’Emotionally and intellectually i witness somehting i’ve never experienced before. After inviting her audience inside her performance through a kind presentation of the band, Zoe Efstathiou takes us into an unconventional, yet very appealing landscape of improvised music. Even though we never know where we’ll go, Efstathiou on the piano constantly has the role of the leader and makes both her audience and her band feel safe and curious. The performance is a great experience all the way through.’’ Dorte Hygum Sørensen – Politiken (Denmark)

Regarding New Roots Trio’s performance at A l’arme Festival in Berlin, music co-composed together with Natalie Sandtorv and Ole Mofjell

“Natalie Sandtorv succeeded with her new project, the new roots trio, with an improvisatory masterpiece. in this composed concert for voice, prepared piano and drums, she was supported by the norwegian drummer Ole Mofjell and the greek pianist Zoe Efstathiou, who is also known as the master of the prepared piano.’’